Battle Spot Talonflame gives me a hard time.

I’ve played a couple dozen games with this team and I'm pretty much running .500 and staying slightly above 1500.

I haven’t done much battling since Gen I, so I’m pretty new to this. Starmie has long been one of my favorites, though, and from what I’ve read it’s at least mildly viable, so I used it as the starting point for my team. A “good cores” thread said that Charizard-Mega-X and a good grass-type made good partners, so I added those. I went with Ferrothorn as my Grass-type, figuring it could swap in for Starmie to wall stuff.

I lacked the knowledge and experience to fill out the rest of the team in a deliberately thought-out way, so I just decided to fill the team out with some of what appear to be the all-around bests - Kangaskhan-Mega, Garchomp, and Gengar.

So to recap, team is Starmie, Charizard-X, Ferrothorn, Kangaskhan-Mega, Garchomp, Gengar. Movesets and such can be found below.

If the opponent’s team only has 0-1 things that outright crush Garchomp, I choose a team of Garchomp, Starmie/Gengar, and whichever of the two mega-evolvers I think would work better. In these situations Garchomp usually just runs them over.

When they have two or more things that give Garchomp a hard time, I usually run a team with Starmie or Gengar as the opener (Starmie 75% of the time), Ferrothorn (sometimes Gengar if Ferrothorn is vulnerable to too much of their team), and Charizard (occasionally Kangaskhan if they don’t seem well-prepared for it).