UU Player of the Week #17: mazz

Approved by Sam and Hikari

Picture provided by mazz himself

Welcome back to the UU Player of the Week Project! Took a short hiatus and now it's back. For those of you who don't know, this is a series where I take some of the more known and experienced players and interview them and have you guys leave your questions for them to answer. As always feel free to message me if you have anyone you'd like to see me interview!

Mazz

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I'm one of the pleothora of Canadian Smogonites that enjoys the lower-tier metagames. Albertan-born and raised. I'm a massive hockey fan, and thanks to the invention of Twitter, have been able to live and breathe the game almost 24/7. I'm currently headed into my third year of university at the U of A (same place Raseri goes :]) to continue studying geophysical engineering. During the summer I work as a heavy-duty mechanic.

Most Known For:
I'm most known for three things: being an absolute shit on Showdown, mass UU C&C and subforum contributions in Underused, and periodically dying for considerable stretches at a time. I also broke Gothitelle back in Gen V, something I'm still proud of to this day.

Favorite Pokemon:
This answer varies a lot. I've never had a specific "favourite" (learn to spell btw). Bulbasaur, Latios, Magneton, Mamoswine, Electivire, Scizor, and a bunch of other Pokemon round up a group of Pokemon I like.

Most used UU Pokemon:
Mega-Aerodactyl.

Where did you get your name from?
I've told this story a few times on Showdown. It originally started as Pokemazter3 on Pokemon Crater. 8-year-old me wasn't particularly creative. When I joined Serebii two years later I added 001 to my Pokemon Crater username. I eventually discovered the competitive section and Xat chatrooms, and decided to shorten it so it was easier to type. I settled on Pk3k1, but that was stupid so I decided on Mazz. It's stuck ever since and has become synonymous with the word "asshole".