Dragon Blade/Dragon Blast Discussion

Atlas

I'm the Mary!
is a Smogon Discord Contributor Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus
dragon blast/dragon blade is the current release (march 16) in japan and will be following the dark explorer english release in a few months. im a beginner/intermediate tcg player and im the most excited for this release than the upcoming dark explorers (due out may 9th).

this set introduces the brand new dragon type cards, which uses a combination of already existing energy cards which should bring out a variety of deck combinations. the new cards and their effects can be viewed here.

here are few of the cards im most excited to use:

1G Triple Energy: Search your deck for 3 different types of basic Energy and attach them to your Pokémon in any way you like. Shuffle your deck afterwards.
1G2C Drain Shower: 40 Heal 40 damage from each of your Benched Pokémon.

great setup card with good healing ability too

1L Energy Crush: 20x Does 20 damage for each Energy attached to all of your opponent's Pokémon.
1L2C Flash Impact: 80 Does 20 damage to 1 of your Pokémon, and don't apply Weakness and Resistance to this damage.

so this guy is like a mini mewtwo. it should be able to one shot any of the common water/fire/lighting decks that abuse energy.

1P Dangerous Scale The Defending Pokémon is now Asleep, Burned and Poisoned.
1P2C Aerial Ace: 50+ Flip a coin. If heads, this attack does 30 more damage.

this guy is gonna piss a lot of people off. gotta pack those full heals.

Ability Safeguard Prevent all effects of attacks, including damage, done to this Pokémon by Pokémon-EX (both yours and your opponent's).
1P2C Psychic: 50+ Does 10 more damage for each Energy attached to the Defending Pokémon.

fufufu, sup Ex pokemon

Ability Dust Toxin As long as this Pokémon has a Pokémon Tool attached, all Abilities from Pokémon in either player's hand, on the field, or in discard pile (other than Dust Toxin) stop working.
2P1C Sludge Toss: 60